Clane GAA

Founded 1884

Co. Kildare

2021 John Reidy Memorial - Senior Hurling Tournament Group A Teams Profile

Download our mobile app to hear more about Clane GAA.

See More

Ahead of this Saturdays John Reidy Memorial - Senior Hurling Tournament and as part of our build up find below a profile of the 5 competing teams.

Clane GAA (Kildare)

A set of white Clane jerseys were used for the 1903 All Ireland final, leading to the tradition of Kildare wearing all white as their county colours.Clane have won the most Kildare senior hurling championships (16), and have been top of the Kildare SHC Roll of Honour for 110 years. That said, it’s been a while since the last win (1922)! Clane players have picked up four Christy Ring All Star awards: David Harney (2005), Paudie Reidy (2006), Bernard Deay (2015) and Paddy McKenna (2018). Paddy was also named Christy Ring Hurler of the Year in 2018.

Buffers Alley (Wexford)

Buffers Alley is one of the oldest clubs in Wexford, founded in the late 1870s. Buffers Alley won 8 Wexford SHC finals between 1982-1992 and are the first and only Wexford club to win the All-Ireland Senior Club Hurling Championship in 1989 with a well-deserved win over O'Donovan Rossa of Antrim. Buffers Alley is the home club of Clane hurling legend Larry Harney. Larry’s son David later played club hurling with Buffers Alley, along with John Reidy’s son Paudie.

Naomh Olaf (Dublin)

Naomh Olaf was founded in 1981. The club is named after Sigtrygg ‘’ Silkbeard’’ Olafsson who was a Hiberno-Norse King, one of the first Viking Kings of Dublin. Located in Sandyford, the club serves an area stretching from Churchtown to Stepaside. Notable recent inter-county players include Declan O’Dwyer (hurling) and David Byrne (football).

Kilcormac/Killoughey (Offaly)

Kilcormac/Killoughey GAA club is situated between Birr and Tullamore in the heart of County Offaly and was founded in late 1986. They were two parish teams prior to this Kilcormac and Killoughey who often battled out against each other in championship hurling and football. In October 2012, history was made when Kilcormac/Killoughey defeated St Rynagh’s by 2-16 to 2-12 to secure a first ever county title for the club. A Leinster title followed a couple of months later. Kilcormac/Killoughey have added 3 titles since then, winning the Offaly senior hurling championship in 2013, 2014 and 2017.

Raharney (Westmeath)

Raharney are one of Westmeath’s most successful hurling clubs with 13 senior hurling titles in total. These titles spanned across a period of 103 years with the first title coming in 1913, and the most recent coming in 2016. Raharney’s most recent title was potentially their most impressive, as they were required to stage a remarkable second half comeback on county final day. Having trailed Clonkil by 8 points at half time (1-7 to 0-2), they fought back in the second half to come out on top on scoreline of 2-18 to 1-13.

The tournament kicks off at 10.30am on Saturday morning with Clane against Raharney on the main pitch while Kilcormac/Killoughey face Naomh Olaf on the Top Pitch.

Click here for further details and the tournament format.

Keep an eye on our web site at or download our mobile app ClubZap. You can also follow us on Twitter @ClaneGaa, Facebook @ClaneGaa and Instagram @clanegaaclub or follow the hash tag #JohnReidyHurling across your favourite social media

Download ClubZap

Get live information for Club on the ClubZap App

App Store Google Play