Our Club

About Us


Conneff Park on the Prosperous Road is the home of the club which was founded in 1884. The club has circa 1,500 members from the Clane area and surrounding parishes and caters for the GAA codes of Men’s and Ladies Football, Hurling and Camogie. The club fields approx 70 teams across all age groups and levels from Nursery to Senior. The club is at the heart of the community and has excellent partnerships in place with all the local schools.

Clane GAA Club is a winner of 17 Kildare county senior football championships, 16 county senior hurling championships and Kildare club of the year in 1975. Clane players are credited with bringing the handpass into Gaelic football. Richard Cribben was regarded as one of the best players in the game in the 1890s and played on the international team that played England at Stamford Bridge in 1896. Pa Connolly (a Cuchulainn All-Star award winner in 1963) and Tommy Carew featured on the Kildare football team of the millennium. Martin Lynch was an All Stars Award winner in 1991. John Finn was an All Stars Award winner in 1998.

The decision of Dick Brien to bring a set of hurleys to Clane and the appointment of Wexfordman, John P Lacey, as secretary of the Clane club in 1903 established hurling in the club. We went on to win 16 titles before 1922, including a famous comeback against Landenstown from seven points down in 1920. In our glory period Clane had lost just two finals, to Maynooth on objection in 1913 and to Celbridge when some of their players were missing in 1921. This proved to be the clubs most successful period in the Senior ranks and to this day they still hold the title of having the most Senior Hurling Championships in Kildare (16). After spending the best part of the 1990’s at Intermediate level, the early 2000’s saw them eventually return to the Senior ranks. They went on to win the Senior Hurling League in 2009 under the management of Seán O’Dea. The Junior team won the Kildare Junior Hurling Championship in 2013. Throughout the years, Clane have been well represented at county level. In 2014, Kildare won the Christy Ring competition which included 4 Clane players; David Harney, Paudie Reidy, Bernard Deay and Paddy McKenna. In the same year, the Kildare Under 21 team won the Leinster “A” and All-Ireland “B” competitions with 5 Clane players on the team; Paddy McKenna, Shane Ryan, Tommy Cribbin, Cathal Egan and Connor Martin. Three Clane players have also picked up Christy Ring All Star awards David Harney (2005), Paudie Reidy (2006) and Bernard Deay (2015).

The Camogie Club was founded in 1931 when Bridie Ennis was listed as ‘one of the best players in the county.’ Clane won the county championship in 1939 shortly before the club lapsed and the best players joined Sallins. A team trained by Wexford man Ned Coughlan won the 1953 league and championship, the 1962 senior league, but the club lapsed again 1966-1976. Clane revived in 1976 and won league and championship in 1977 wearing the green gym-slips of the local Scoil Mhuire.